Northeast State celebrates students at annual Honors Convocation

Published 4:20 pm Wednesday, May 8, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Northeast State Community College recognized the year’s distinguished students, staff, and faculty members at the annual Honors Convocation held May 2 at the Ballad Health Performing Arts Center on the Blountville campus.


The Northeast State Program Area Awards recognized outstanding students in the College’s academic departments for 2023-24. Program award winners are:

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox


Behavioral & Social Sciences Division

Communication Studies – Rebekah Saulsbury; Criminal Justice (A.A.S.) – Michelle Malone; Criminal Justice (A.S.) – Carlyn Biggs; Early Childhood Education (A.A.S.) – Chasity McCain; Early Childhood Education Pre-K-3 – Vera Powell; Exercise Science – Blane Arnold; Mass Communications – John Ryan; Media and Communications – Meredith Eades; Political Science – Abigail Fanning; Psychology – Shanna Holt; Social Work – Joshua Gauthier; Sociology – Shariah Alvarenga; Sport and Leisure Management – Patrick Phillips; Teacher Education (K-5) – Rebecca Maxwell; Teacher Education (Secondary) – Adrianna Wiseman; Teacher Education (Special Education) – Kayla Fuller.


Health Professions Division

Advanced Emergency Medical Technician – Jackson Barrett; Cardiovascular Technology / Invasive – Kaitlynn Bowser; Cardiovascular Technology / Non-Invasive – Brandi Parvin; Dental Assistant – Heather Arnold; Emergency Medical Technician – Ethan Thacker; Medical Laboratory Technology – Amanda Hart; Nursing / Traditional RN – Makayla Maslin; Paramedic – Michael Willis; Surgical Technology – Joanna Hester.


Humanities Division

Art – Kymber Hooven; Digital Media – Kyndal Thomas; English – Shariah Alvarenga;  Foreign Language – Bliss Key; History – Jessica Denzler; Humanities – Leon Phillips; Philosophy – Patricia Stover; Theatre – Christian Bell; Visual Art and Design Studio (A.A.) – Kaitlyn Vaughn; Visual Art and Design-Studio (A.S.) – Rachel Lucas.


Mathematics Division

Accounting (A.S.) – Ashley Britt; Business Administration – Leon Phillips; Mathematics – Cooper Greene; Pre-Engineering – Dow Cox. 


Science Division

Agriculture – Laney Watson; Agriculture / Animal Science – Lillian Stallard; Agriculture / Business – Sydney Roney; Agriculture / Plant and Soil – Thomas McNeely; 

Biology – Isabella Kirpan; Chemistry – Erynn Jackson; Environmental Health (A.S.) – Solana Hosburgh; Imaging Sciences – Hayley Grubb; Physics – Cooper Green; Pre-Cardiopulmonary Science – Austin Hardin; Pre-Dental Hygiene (East Tennessee State University) – Jenny Herrera; Pre-Health Professions – Tiara Sokol; Pre-Lab Medical Science (Lincoln Memorial University) – Jeffrey Venable; Pre-Nursing (ETSU) – Julie Robertson; Pre-Nursing (King University) – Jaden Shaw; Pre-Occupational Therapy (Milligan University) – Joshua Reynolds; Pre-Pharmacy – Connor Clark; Pre-Physical Therapy – Lane Edmonds; Pre-Radiography – Jade Crusenberry; Pre-Rehabilitative Science – Jose Ramirez Saldana; Pre-Wildlife and Fisheries (LMU) – Lydia Ferrell.­



Auto Body Collision Repair – Clarence Allen; Industrial Technology / Automotive Service – Ioane Moana; Industrial Technology / Motorsports – Ethan Short; Combination Welding (T.C.P.) – Andrew Tilton; Computer Aided Drafting (T.C.P.) – Samuel Gibbs; Construction Electricity (T.C.P.) – Michael Bordin; Electrical Technology / Electrical – Jackson Jenkins; Electrical Technology / Electromechanical – Lucas Fleming; Industrial Technology / Engineering Design Technology – Jacqueline Bevins; Industrial Technology / Machine Tool – Jonathan Glover; Industrial Technology / Manufacturing Engineering Technology – Jordan Whitehead; Industrial Design / Welding and Metal Fabrication – Owen Countiss; Administrative Professional Technology – Business Office – Shallico Holt; Administrative Professional Technology – Legal Office – Michelle Seymour; Administrative Professional Technology – Medical Office – Lea Shaffer; Business-Accounting (A.A.S.) – Naomi Langford; Business-Management – John Roller; Small Business Management – Maisie Bare; Computer Information Technology – Kayla Keene; Computer & Information Science/Cyber Defense – Joseph Frazier; Computer Information Technology / Networking – Dwayne Arnold; Computer Information Technology / Programming – Austin Castle; Computer Information Technology / Systems Administration and Management – Todd Lane; Entertainment Technology – Christopher Miller; Information Technology – Brody Summey.


Northeast State President Dr. Jeff McCord presented the college’s Outstanding Student Award to Rebekah Saulsbury. Saulsbury is a member of the Northeast State Debate Team and an Honors Program graduate. She is a member of the President’s All-Academic Team posting a 4.0 grade point average for all coursework at Northeast State. Roan Hicks won the Adult Learner of the Year Award. This award honors an adult student demonstrating drive and determination to excel in college.


Northeast State recognized students Jessica Green and Xander Pike who were named as Phi Theta Kappa All-Tennessee Community College Academic Team Scholars.  Phi Theta Kappa is a national academic honors society for community colleges. The All-Tennessee Academic Team is chosen from community college students across the state.


The College also honored the President’s All-Academic Team of 2023-24. The All-Academic Team recognized the 58 students who graduated this spring with a perfect 4.0 grade point average.