Honoring Legends: Carter County Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

Published 4:44 pm Monday, May 20, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

BY C.Y. Peters

On Saturday night, Milligan University’s campus buzzed with excitement as nearly 200 attendees gathered to celebrate the latest inductees into the Carter County Sports Hall of Fame. The evening was a spectacular tribute to local sports legends, meticulously organized and highlighted by the culinary delights prepared by Mark Henry of Milligan University. Guests were treated to a gourmet meal with all the trimmings, decadent desserts, and an endless supply of drinks, creating a festive atmosphere fitting for the occasion.

The event was hosted in the university’s grand banquet hall, which was beautifully decorated for the evening. The ambiance was set for an unforgettable night, but it was the heartfelt stories and stirring speeches that truly made the event special. Bill Robinson, Milligan’s men’s basketball coach, took to the stage to deliver a keynote speech filled with warmth and nostalgia. His recollections of past triumphs and challenges were so vivid and engaging that the audience sat on the edges of their seats, completely captivated. Just as Robinson was about to conclude, a rumble of thunder outside added a dramatic flourish to his final words, underscoring the emotional resonance of his message.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The highlight of the evening was the induction of an exceptional group of athletes into the Hall of Fame. The inductees were a diverse and accomplished group, each with a unique story and significant contributions to Carter County sports. Honored this year were Tammy Bare Carroll, Roger Shaw, Ginny White, Christina Bowers Lewis, and Shelby McQueen, who accepted the honor on behalf of the late David McQueen. The list also included Billy Sampson, Jessica Brumit, Sharon Butler Jewett, Doneva Bays, Wes Holly Jr., James Tolley, John Hyatt Jr., William Trammell, Garth McKinney, Mike Matheson, Ned Smith, Jason Carter, Jason Clarke, the late Ruth Hyder Franklin, and the late Johnny “Big John” Taylor.

As each inductee’s name was announced, applause filled the room, celebrating their enduring legacies and contributions to the sports community. The evening was a fitting tribute to these remarkable individuals whose achievements have left an indelible mark on Carter County.

The Carter County Sports Hall of Fame extended its heartfelt thanks to all supporters and advertisers who made the event possible. Their contributions ensured that the ceremony was not only a night to remember but also a celebration of the spirit and dedication that define Carter County sports.