Sullivan South alumni lead day two of ETC

Published 10:07 pm Saturday, July 4, 2015

ELIZABETHTON – The Sullivan South alumni duo of Cayman Ratliff and Brandon Worley will go into Sunday’s final round of the Carter County Bank East Tennessee Amateur tied for the lead in the championship flight.

The cousins Ratliff and Worley will tee off at 1:20 p.m. after the two share the 36-hole lead with matching totals of 135. Both carded matching rounds of 68 Friday before Saturday’s 67 for each.

“I played solid. I didn’t have any big hiccups today,” said Ratliff about his round. “On the back I felt like I left a lot of birdies out there. I hit it pretty well, but I couldn’t get any putts to drop.”

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“It’s really exciting. We’ve never played together in a final round of a big tournament,” said Worley about playing with Ratliff on Sunday.

Joining the two in the final group will be Jack Rhea who posted a 68 Saturday and is tied for third, but three shots away from the leaders.

Worley will be the elder player in the group as Worley is a senior at Tennessee. Meanwhile Ratliff is a rising sophomore at East Tennessee State and Rhea is still at Science Hill.

The other player tied for third is Nick York and he will play with Garrett Whitfield and James Beckner. Beckner finished the day five shots out of the lead while Whitfield is a stroke behind that. First-round leader Jeff Scott along with Zach Briggs stand six shots out of the lead going into the final 18 holes.

The cut line came out to a two-day total of 150 with 34 players playing Sunday.

The senior division has Jeff Isaacs leading overall and in the 50-54 group with a two-day total of 142. Isaacs carded a 68 to tie for best round in the division Saturday. Mike Poe goes into Sunday a shot behind and in front of the 55-59 group. Jimmy Whittenburg trails Poe by a shot in the group. Tony Gouge, Jeff Andrews and Dwight Scott are three shots off the leader’s pace.

The women’s division finally played a full 18 holes Saturday and a three-way race developed. Ann Sullivan took the lead thanks to her 77 and enters Sunday with a two-shot advantage over Michaela Matheson and Lacie York. York had the low round of the day in the women’s group with a 76 while Matheson followed with a 78.

In match play Jerry Whitt and Troy Baker will face off for the Ping flight crown. In the Callaway flight, Dylan Bailey and Mark Dugger reached the finals. Chris Tidwell and Josh Shaver will decide the Bridgestone flight winner. Meanwhile in the Titleist flight, Shannon Johnson and Brian Allen battle for first.

Tee times begin at 7 a.m. Sunday with the championships to be decided.

Carter County Bank East Tennessee Amateur
Saturday’s second round
At Elizabethton Golf Course
Par 72
Championship Division
Cayman Ratliff 68-67–135
Brandon Worley 68-67–135
Jack Rhea 70-68–138
Nick York 71-67–138
James Beckner 70-70–140
Garrett Whitfield 71-70–141
Jeff Scott 66-75–141
Zach Briggs 71-70–141
Tyler Lane 72-70–142
Boddie Bible 73-70–143
Nick Cohen 74-69–143
Jace DeVault 74-69–143
Kelly Lane 71-72–143
Lucas Armstrong 76-69–145
Jake Goins 74-71–145
Joe Brooks 71-74–145
Joshua Gambrell 74-71–145
Ben Treadway 75-71–146
John Carpenter 71-76–147
Nathan Ballenberger 73-74–147
David Greer 75-72–147
Tim Moore 77-70–147
Chris Wynne 71-76–147
Mitchell Sutton 75-72–147
Alex Bradford 76-72–148
Ben Harris 75-73–148
Alex Hutson 71-77–148
Joseph Matherly 77-71–148
Rick Mays 71-78–149
Chris Guy 72-78–150
Billy Haren 76-74–150
Dakota Norton 78-72–150
Cameron Dugger 73-77–150
Austin Carter 77-73–150
Missed the cut
Matt Bowers 77-74–151
Nick Sewell 75-77–152
Nick Kyte 75-78–153
Gavin McClellan 78-76–154
Jacob Davis 78-76–154
Drake Crawford 77-77–154
Seth Crawford 77-77–154
Ben Kennard 78-77–155
Eli Fagan 73-82–155
Jeremy Campbell 83-75–158
Josh Wallace 79-80–159
Josh Taylor 82-77–159
Cory Walker 80-79–159
Cameron Lane 81-78–159
Tyler Justis 87-74–161
Gabe Turner 86-76–162
Jacob Turner 83-80–163
Douglas Fleenor 85-78–163
Hunter Chandley 83-83–166
Brian Cartwright 83-84–167
Les Craft 86-86–172
Josh Jones WD
Dustin Dugger WD
John Cornett WD
Tommy Miller 74-WD
Chris Schaff 78-WD

Jeff Isaacs 74-68–142
Tony Gouge 72-73–145
Jeff Andrews 77-68–145
Dave Bellessa 73-73–146
Greg Rodgers 75-71–146
James Fender 77-70–147
David Reynolds 77-70–147
Steve Wyatt 78-72–150
Ronnie Breeden 77-74–151
James White 76-77–153
Mike Davis 83-85–168

Mike Poe 73-70–143
Jimmy Whittenburg 74-70–144
Dwight Scott 72-73–145
Danny Jones 75-73–148
Eddie Bailey 74-75–149
Lyman Fulton 76-73–150
Don Lester 75-78–153
Rick Rogers 82-81–163
Lewis Huettel 94-95–189

Steve Morton 78-73–151
Bob Ross 77-77–154
Mike Seal 76-79–155
Pat Kenney 81-76–157
James Love 80-78–158
Eddie Lewis 85-83–168
Ansley Bishop 89-82–171
Phil Powell 90-83–173
Phil Stephenson 95-83–173

Women’s Division
(First round was shortened to nine holes)
Ann Sullivan 40-77–117
Michaela Matheson 41-78–119
Lacie York 43-76–119
Marie Johnson 43-82–125
Jenny Brock 46–95–141
Jamie Hinkle 50-92–142
Felicia Nidiffer 48-97–145
Malisa Rader 52-98–150
Grizzle 52-100–152

Match play
Titleist Flight
Brian Allen def. Mitch Cabe
Shannon Johnson def. Carroll Deaton
Casey Goetz def. Harmon Duncan
Zach McCamey def. Logan Whitt
Bridgestone Flight
Chris Tidwell def. Larry Calhoun
Josh Shaver def. Greg Goulds
Dylan Wyatt def. Michael Hawk
Chad Napier def. David Sellers
Callaway Flight
Dylan Bailey def. Bucky Harris
Mark Dugger def. Mitch Nidiffer
Jamie Shipley def. Jon Whitson
Rick Eggers def. Ethan Mays
Ping Flight
Jerry Whitt def. Paul Johnson
Troy Baker def. Wendell White
Brian Scott def. Randy Gorzka
Garrett Rader def. Stephen Williams

Today’s tee times
Match play
7 a.m. — Bucky Harris vs. Rick Eggers
7:08 a.m. — Dylan Wyatt vs. Greg Goulds
7:16 a.m. – Larry Calhoun vs. Chad Napier
7:24 a.m. — Wendell White vs. Brian Scott
7:32 a.m. — Mitch Cabe vs. Zach McCamey
7:40 a.m. — Garrett Rader vs. Paul Johnson
7:48 a.m. — Casey Goetz vs. Carroll Deaton
7:56 a.m. — Mitch Nidiffer vs. Jamie Shipley
8:04 a.m. — Dylan Bailey vs. Mark Dugger
8:12 a.m. — Jerry Whitt vs. Troy Baker
8:20 a.m. — Brian Allen vs. Shannon Johnson
8:28 a.m. — Chris Tidwell vs. Josh Shaver

Women’s division
8:40 a.m. — Felicia Nidiffer, Malisa Rader, Angie Grizzle
8:50 a.m. — Marie Johnson, Jenny Brock, Jamie Hinkle
9 a.m. — Ann Sullivan, Michaela Matheson, Lacie York
9:30 a.m. — Lewis Huetel, Phil Stephenson
9:40 a.m. — Mike Davis, Ansley Bishop, Phil Powell
9:50 a.m. — James Love, Rick Rogers, Eddie Lewis
10 a.m — Bob Ross, Mike Seal, Pat Kenney
10:10 a.m. — Ronnie Breeden, Don Lester, James White
10:20 a.m. — Eddie Bailey, Steve Wyatt, Steve Morton
10:30 a.m. — David Reynolds, Danny Jones, Lyman Fulton
10:40 a.m. — Greg Rodgers, Dave Bellessa, James Fender
10:50 a.m. — Jeff Andrews, Dwight Scott, Tony Gouge
11 a.m. — Jeff Isaacs, Mike Poe, Jimmy Whittenburg

Championship division
11:30 a.m. — Dakota Norton, Cameron Dugger
11:40 a.m. — Austin Carter, Chris Guy
11:50 a.m. — Billy Harren, Rick Mays, Joseph Matherly
Noon — Ben Harris, Alex Hutson, Alex Bradford
12:10 p.m. — David Greer, Chris Wynne, Mitchell Sutton
12:20 p.m. — Tim Moore, John Carpenter, Nathan Ballenberger
12:30 p.m. — Ben Treadway, Jake Goins, Joe Brooks
12:40 p.m. — Lucas Armstrong, Joshua Gambrell, Kelly Lane
12:50 p.m. — Jace DaVault, Biddie Bible, Nick Cohen
1 p.m. — Tyler Lane, Jeff Scott, Zach Briggs
1:10 p.m. — Garrett Whitfield, James Beckner, Nick York
1:20 p.m. — Cayman Ratliff, Brandon Worley, Jack Rhea