Carter County Sports Hall of Fame releases list of 2016 inductees

Published 10:22 am Wednesday, May 4, 2016

On June 25 at 6 p.m. inside the Elizabethton Elks Club, the Carter County Sports Hall of Fame will induct another slew of Carter County athletic standouts.
This year’s list of inductees is made up of 20 individuals that span the county from Happy Valley up to Roan Mountain.
The honor roll includes:
Randy Curde
Curde, a Happy Valley basketball standout, was a part of the Warriors’ 1974 state championship squad, and drove in the game winning basket during the Warriors’ 27-26 win over Maury City, their first opponent of the 74 state tournament.
Danny Clark
A former Elizabethton High School baseball standout, Clark went on to have a substantial career at East Tennessee State University, before coaching at both Morristown West and Milligan College. Clark is now the pitching coordinator for the Texas Rangers.
Tim Clipse
Clipse stormed the football gridiron for the Cloudland Highlanders in the early 1990s. During his sophomore season, Clipse accumulated over 900 yards rushing, before topping the 2000-yard mark as a junior. He added another 1,800 yards his senior year. He would go on to play for Lees-McRae.
Grady Hill
Hill, like Clipse, is another Roan Mountain standout. Playing basketball for Highlanders in the early 70s, Hill finished his high school career with 1,498 career points. He led the Watauga Conference during the 1973-74 season.
John Holsclaw
Longtime voice of the Cyclones on WBEJ, Holsclaw starred as a quarterback for EHS during his high school years. Holsclaw was a player on the Cyclones’ 1959 state runner-up baseball squad.
Raymond Lowe
Considered by some to be the Unaka Rangers’ best-ever receiver, Lowe scored 17 touchdowns between 1950 and 1952. Lowe made the All-Watauga Conference team in both 1951 and 1952.
Bob McClain
McClain was a two-time All-Watauga Conference linebacker for Hampton in the late 1960s and a member of 10-0 team of 1969.
Shelby Miller
Miller has been a TSSAA official for 48 years and was recognized as the 2003 TSSAA Official of the Year. He officiated 16 district tournaments, 15 regional tournaments, 11 sub-state games and 2 state tournaments and officiated in 4 state football championships.
Beatrice Odom
Odam starred in basketball for Cloudland in the 1930s and early 1940s. She accumulated over a 1,000 career points, while averaging 30 points a game as a senior. During her junior season, Odom hit for more than 20 points a game.
Anthony Reddick
Reddick competed for the EHS football squad in the early 1990s. Reddick was an all-state defensive back in 1992. After high school, Reddick went on to start at the University of Memphis, where he was a three-time letterman. In 1996, he started for the Tigers during their upset of the Peyton Manning-led Tennessee Volunteers, which were ranked in the top 10 at the time.
Kim Richardson
Richardson, a standout football player for Unaka, recorded 3,807 career rushing yards. Richardson was selected to the All-Watauga Conference team in 1972 and 1973. After high school, Richardson played for ETSU.
Marty Street
Street played basketball for Happy Valley in the 1970s. Over his career, Street accumulated 1,194 career points and was a part of the 1974 state championship team. During his time playing for Milligan College, Street led the Buffaloes in scoring with 511 points during the 1978-79 season. He went on to coach at Elizabethton, University High, and David Crockett.
Jack Waycaster
Waycaster competed for the Hampton Bulldogs in basketball in the late 1940s and early 1950s, during which he led Hampton in scoring during both the 1949-50 and 1950-51 seasons. During his senior year, Waycaster had 41 points during a game against Fall Branch.
Also on this season’s list of inductees is Len Dugger, Cob Riddle, Barry Phillips, Ashley Fine, Wlima “Bill” Donnelly, Ron Davis, and Lisa Phipps Carter.
In the coming weeks, the Elizabethton Star will be running a series of stories about many of this year’s inductees.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox