CAK, Concord Christian to officially move to Division II

Published 3:41 pm Friday, October 14, 2016


It seems that high school postseasons will have a different look in the coming years.
Friday afternoon, the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association released a list of private schools that will be moving out of the Division I classification and into the Division II class for the 2017-2021 classification cycle.
Among the schools listed are Christian Academy of Knoxville, Concord Christian, Grace Christian Academy of Knoxville, Christ Presbyterian Academy, and Boyd-Buchanan High School.
This means that local Carter County teams will no longer have to play private school powerhouses like CAK and Grace Christian in the postseason.
The reclassification will also have an impact on the Region 1-1A football conference since Concord Christian will no longer be playing in DI.
Schools that will make the move include:
Battle Ground Academy
Baylor School
Boyd-Buchanan High School
Brentwood Academy
Briarcrest Christian School
Chattanooga Christian School
Christ Presbyterian Academy
Christain Academy of Knoville
Christain Brothers High School
Collegedale Academy
Concord Christian School
Davidson Academy
Donelson Christian Academy
Ensworth High School
Evangelical Christian School
Ezell-Hardin Christian School
Father Ryan High School
Fayette Academy
First Baptist Academy
Franklin Road Academy
Friendship Christian School
Girls Preparatory School
Goodpasture Christian School
Grace Baptist Academy
Grace Christian Academy – Knoxville
Harding Academy
Harpeth Hall High School
Hendersonville Christian Academy
Hutchison School
Immaculate Conception High School
Jackson Christian School
Lausanne Collegiate School
Lipscomb Academy
Margolin Hebrew Academy
McCallie School
Memphis Catholic High School
Memphis University School
Middle Tennessee Christian School
Montgomery Bell Academy
Mt. Juliet Christian Academy
Nashville Christian School
Northpoint Christian School
Notre Dame High School
Pope John Paul II High School
Providence Christian Academy
Rossville Christian Academy
Sacred Heart of Jesus High School
Silverdale Baptist Academy
St. Agnes Academy
St. Andrew’s – Sewanee School
St. Benedict at Auburndale
St. Cecilia Academy
St. George’s Independent School
St. Mary’s Episcopal School
The King’s Academy
The Webb School
Tipton-Rosemark Academy
University School of Jackson
University School of Nashville
Webb School of Knoxville
Westminster Academy
Zion Christian Academy

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox