Unaka High Key Club brings home slew of awards

Published 7:31 am Thursday, March 28, 2019

The Unaka High School Key Club recently made the trip down to Franklin for the Tennessee-Kentucky District Convention.

And when they came home, they had their hands full of awards.

Altogether the group won 13 awards.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“It’s really cool to see all the trophies we get to bring home every year which represents all the work we’ve done, but at the end of the day that’s not what it’s about,” said Key Club President Britney Hodge, who was named the K-T District Ronald D. Hart Outstanding Club President. “We’re just here doing what we do best, giving back to our community any way we can.”

As a team, Unaka’s Key Club brought home first place for Club Service to Ronald McDonald House, first place for Achievement in the Bronze Section, first place for Single Service Project “Building Our Home, and Community-The Stoney Creek Way,” first place in the Scrapbook Award, second place in the Pop Tab Contest for Ronald McDonald House, third place in the Club Video Contest, and third place in Ronald McDonald House Club Fundraising.

The Unaka Key Club also received a Certificate of Outstanding Service as a Gold Level Fundraiser for the Ronald McDonald House. The group also received a UNICEF Banner Patch Award for raising $304 through their Trick-or-Treat for UNICEF.

Along with their group awards, the Unaka Key Club was also named a 2018-19 Key Club Distinguished Club.

In individuals awards, Unaka junior Axi Erickson won second place in the Impromptu Essay Contest, while Unaka’s Morgan Mann won third place for Individual Service to the Ronald McDonald House.

“For the previous Key Club year, the kids had over 2,500 community service hours,” said Unaka Key Club sponsor, Kayla Clawson, who has been with the club for three years. “For one, they are giving back to their community. Second, they are learning how to build this tie between themselves and the community.”

The Unaka Key Club is made up of Grace Agan, Kendall Bare, Celeste Buckles, Rachel Carrier, Emilee Carroll, Katie Carter, Micaylah Creedon, Macy Ensor, Axi Erickson, Jacob Feaster, Abbie Fuel, Haylee Fuller, Emily Grindstaff, Sara Beth Grubb, Britney Hodge, Katie Houghton, Ryan Johnson, Leah Kiser, Lilie Kiser, Morgan Mann, McKenzie Murray, Cassidy Norris, Myah Parlier, Alana Parsons, Laura Perkins, Erika Potter, Makenzie Revis, Taylor Shanks, Sadie Shoun, Annie Townsend, Courtney Whitehead, Abby Williams and Dusty Wright.