Carter Hall of Fame induction set for June 20 Organizers to offer an alternate date

Published 3:57 pm Friday, May 29, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Carter County Sports Hall of Fame’s 2020 induction remains scheduled
for Saturday, June 20 at Elizabethton’s Tennessee College of Applied

However, due to the coronavirus pandemic, an alternate date will be
scheduled for later this year to accommodate inductees and members of
their parties who aren’t yet comfortable with attending next month’s event.

For those planning to attend in June, tickets need to be purchased in
advance so that organizers will know how many people will be on hand.

Slated for induction this year are Herb Arnett, Bo Campbell, Monna
Carter, Willie Church, Ross Garland, Dennis Greenwell, Sonny Hale,
Robert Heaton, Sharon Hubbard, Malcolm Kress, Randy Little, Ken Long,
Harold Mains, Wayne Pierce, Eddie Pless, Dick Ryan, Larry Shoun, Bill
Tetrick and Missy Smith Williams.

Laura Parkey Purkey, the daughter of the late hall of fame member Don
Parkey will receive an honorary induction.

The June ceremony is scheduled to begin at 5:30 p.m.

Tickets can be ordered at or by mail.
If paying by mail, send a check or money order written to “Carter County
Sports Hall of Fame” to 326 Peters Hollow Road, Elizabethton, TN 37643.

Tickets are $20 each or $15 for presenters and children under the age of 14.

For more information, contact Charles Peters (470-9248,,
Jamie Combs (895-8296, or Steve Lowe (202-8416, 

Contact Lowe is you experience problems with online payment.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox