Local educators recognized during 2022 Carter Co. Imagination Library Educator’s Hall of Fame

Published 10:58 pm Monday, April 25, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...
Four local educators were inducted into the 2022 Carter County Imagination Library Educator’s Hall of Fame during a banquet at the Tennessee College of Applied Technology.
Those educators included two living and two deceased from both Carter County and Elizabethton City Schools.
Entering the Hall of Fame from the city were Sonya Alexander (living) and Sid Hathaway (deceased) while the county was represented by Creola Miller (living) and Phyllis Edens (deceased).
The night began with a catered meal by Fatz Cafe and a reading by Nash Kitchens, a nine-year-old student from East Side Elementary where he is completing his third-grade year.
Kitchens loves baseball and has enjoyed receiving five years’ worth of Imagination Library books from which he selected Luke at Bat to read to those gathered.
City and county districtwide teachers of the year followed.
Those recognized from Elizabethton City:
  • Shaun Julian – 4th grade at Harold McCormick.
  • Christy Malone – 5th grade at East Side.
  • Megan Foster – 9-12th grade at Elizabethton High School.
Carter County educators were:
  • Tiffany Revis – K-4th at Unaka Elementary.
  • Stacy Triplett – 5-8th at Cloudland Elementary.
  • Amy Hewitt – 9-12th Unaka High School.
The Carter County Imagination Library Foundation members for 2022 include:
  • Carter County Bank
  • Citizens Bank
  • Elizabethton Federal
  • Northeast Community Credit Union
  • Snap-On Tools
  • Summers Taylor
  • Carter County Car Club
  • Friends of the Library
The CCIL also recognized governing bodies of both Carter County and Elizabethton City for their contributions in their yearly budget allocations.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox