Donald Trump wins local presidential primary

Published 12:15 pm Wednesday, March 6, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Donald Trump was winner of the 2024 Republican Presidential Primary in Carter County. Trump received 5,984 votes to Nikki Haley’s 1,039. Other candidates on the Republican ballot include Ron DeSantis, 73 votes; Chris Christie, 29; Vivek Ramaswamy, 5; Ryan Brinkley; 10, David Stuckenberg, 5, and Asa Hutchinson, 3.

Former South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley dropped out of the 2024 presidential race Wednesday after losing every state but Vermont in Super Tuesday’s primary contests, ceding the Republican nomination to former President Donald Trump.

Haley’s decision to end her campaign effectively kicks off the general election, with Trump and President Joe Biden taking unofficial command of their parties early in the primary season after a string of victories.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In the Democratic Primary in Carter County, President Joe Biden received 279 votes with 58 votes uncommitted. Biden won the Tennessee Democratic Primary with 123,808 votes with 19,397 uncommitted.