Lady Buffs use defensive pressure to propel them to third straight win

Published 7:43 pm Saturday, January 17, 2015

MILLIGAN COLLEGE (Jan. 17, 2015) – With strong defensive pressure and unselfish play, the Milligan College women’s basketball team extended its win streak to three after defeating Point University 66-57 on Wednesday afternoon inside the Steve Lacy Fieldhouse.

Milligan continued to climb in the standings as they earned their third straight conference win in the new year. Milligan improved to 6-13 on the season and 5-6 in the Appalachian Athletic Conference. Point dropped to 10-8 overall and 7-4 in the AAC.

With great ball movement from the Buffs early in the game, the Buffs were able to draw four fouls in the first 11 minutes, while Milligan played clean defense which caused a flustered Point offense early in the game. But Point was able to regain their nerves as they were captured a narrow lead heading into the half, 30-28.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

With consistent inside shooting from Allison Jones and Hayley Wyrick, the Buffs were able to regain the lead early. It wasn’t until a 3-pointer from Lindsee Price with nine minutes left that the Buffs were able to extend their lead to double digits. The Buffs would go on to win, 66-57.

Leading the team in scoring, Jones scored 23 points, while Wyrick scored 18, marking her 23rd straight game scoring in double figures. Wyrick also recorded another double-double effort, her second of her career, and led the team in rebounds with 12, a new career high. Chelsey Weddle scored 10, and Jones led the team in assists with four.

Dereese Owens led Point in scoring with 20 followed by Candace Rhodes with 15. Point was led in rebounds by Catika Brown with 11.

Milligan will begin a two-game conference road trip to St. Andrews University on Wednesday, Jan. 21 and to No. 11 Tennessee Wesleyan College on Saturday, Jan. 24. The Buffs will return to the Steve Lacy Fieldhouse to host the Lady Bulldogs of Union College, who are currently receiving votes, on Wednesday, Jan. 28.